Quality Immigration Law Services Since 1978

  1. Home
  2.  | 
  3. Immigration Law
  4.  | Will the USCIS deny me citizenship if I fail my tests?

Will the USCIS deny me citizenship if I fail my tests?

On Behalf of | Mar 16, 2023 | Immigration Law

Passing the English and civics tests is among the requirements you need to satisfy for the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) to consider your application for naturalization. These tests prove that you can communicate in English and have sufficient knowledge of American politics, history, and society. However, failing the tests doesn’t mean you will get a removal order or can no longer become a US citizen.

You can retake the exams

The USCIS gives applicants two attempts to pass the English and civics tests. Should you fail the first time, the USCIS will schedule you for reexamination several days after your initial exam. They will only test you for the parts of the exam which you failed. For example, if you passed all sections of the English exam except for the reading test, then that’s the only part you must retake.

The inability to provide the correct answers isn’t the only grounds for failing the exam. If you refuse to answer questions or do not attend your scheduled retest, the USCIS might consider your second attempt a failure. Failing the second time may result in the denial of your application.

However, not passing your reexamination is not the end of the journey toward becoming a US citizen. You can reapply for naturalization, and once you do, you will get another two attempts to pass the English and civics tests.

Make sure to prepare for the tests

Whether it’s your first or successive attempts at the English and civics tests, ample preparation is crucial. Reading the news, brushing up on US history, and practicing communicating in English are among the most effective ways to do this. You may also use to get an idea of what the questions and answers on the exams will be.